About Light House


Light House Studio equips young people with the skills and confidence to tell their stories and build community through collaborative filmmaking. We seek to foster a community where Charlottesville’s young people flourish as students, storytellers, and citizens.


Light House Studio was founded in 1999 by a group of local filmmakers, artists, and educators who began with a small pilot workshop, “Video Diary.” Since then we have helped youth create thousands of documentaries, dramas, and animated films. Our student work has been broadcast on PBS, CNN, IFC, and TNT. Work has been exhibited at the Fralin Museum of Art at the University of Virginia, Second Street Gallery, and Live Arts, among others. Light House films have been shown in festivals all over the United States. Many of our students have received national awards for their films, including a Peabody Award, a Gold World Medal at the New York Festivals World’s Best TV & Films, and a CINE Golden Eagle Award.

We have collaborated with many local nonprofits, including The International Rescue Committee; Children Youth and Family Services; Boys and Girls Club; The Music Resource Center; Live Arts; Second Street Gallery; The Virginia Film Festival; Public Housing Association of Residents; UNICEF’s Tap Project; Central Virginia Burn Camp; Big Brothers Big Sisters; the Shenandoah National Park Trust; as well as Ivy Creek School, Tandem Friends School, the Community Homeschool Enrichment Center, St. Anne’s-Belfield, and Walker Scholars. Light House is a member of Virginians for the Arts, the Virginia Production Alliance, The Center for Nonprofit Excellence, and The Alliance.

We provide uncensored, mentored workshops in digital filmmaking and exhibition opportunities to young people, enabling them to learn, by hand, the pervasive language of motion pictures and sound. We challenge our students to be active participants in the media, and not simply passive consumers of the millions of images they see everyday.

Our Staff

Deanna Gould

Executive Director

Deanna has worked extensively in film. As head of production for Cinesite Europe she successfully completed special effects work for films including Harry Potter I and II, Bond XX Die Another Day and Tomb Raider. Early in her career, Deanna produced numerous television commercials for major US clients. Her awards include Addys, a Clio and numerous medals from the International Film and TV Festival of New York. Before becoming Light House’s staff Executive Director in September 2009, she was a board member and mentor for three years.

[email protected]

Joia Caldwell

Business Manager

Joia has been involved in a wide variety of both creative and administrative projects. In 2007 she served as Producer and 1st Assistant Director on an independent film project shot in Poland and the Czech Republic, co-produced and appeared in an Adrenaline Film Project award-winning short, and toured the UK as a back-up singer. She is a former member of the dance troupe Fire in the Belly, and a singer- songwriter who has performed at dozens of Virginia venues and contributed harmonies to other musicians’ work. Since 2009, Joia has focused on the non-profit sector, serving in leadership roles at University Montessori School and the Virginia Discovery Museum. She is delighted to bring her creative and administrative skills together behind the scenes at Light House Studio.

[email protected]

Will Goss

Education Director

Will Goss is from a very small town called Clarksdale, Mississippi – also known as “Home of the Blues.” Will studied English literature at the University of Georgia, but it wasn’t all Dickens and Shakespeare…he was also in a lot of bands. His favorite one was called Plume, and it’s still alive today. After graduating from Georgia, Will moved to Chicago to study filmmaking at The School of the Art Institute of Chicago. What a city! The school took his love for the cinema to the next level, and his interest in filmmaking and film history has only grown since then. After 3 years of teaching film in Jackson, Mississippi, and 2 years of teaching English in Russia, Will is now in Charlottesville, VA!

[email protected]

Rachel Lane

Program Director

As Program Director at Light House Studio, Rachel Lane strives to inspire creativity and positive growth in emerging filmmakers. Her background in studio art, film production and teaching has provided her opportunities to connect and grow with others through creative communication. She earned her BA in studio art from the University of Virginia, where she concentrated her art practice in cinematography and new media. She received her MFA in film, video, animation and new genres from the University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee, where she had the opportunity to teach film production courses after graduating.

[email protected]

Board of Directors

  • Stuart Greer Ellis, Board Chair
  • Rachel Bronzenske, Treasurer
  • Eugenie Atherton
  • Bob Beard
  • Larry Becker
  • Katharine Birdsall
  • Olivia Branch
  • Catherine Brown
  • Jocelyn Diaz
  • Deanna Gould
  • Elvira Hoskins
  • Sarah Gray Parrish
  • Andrea Stiernstrand
  • Kwamina Williford

Advisory Board

  • Shannon Worrell, Founding Director
  • Josiah Black
  • Larry Blanford, Director of Photography
  • Pati Cunningham, National Education Consultant
  • Temple Fennell, Co-Founder of ATO Pictures
  • Jack Fisk, Oscar-Nominated Production Designer
  • Nicole Kassell, Film & Television Director
  • Will Kerner, Photojournalist
  • Paul Wagner, Oscar-Winning Director
  • Fenton Williams, Lighting Designer & Founder of Filament Productions

Teaching Artists, Past & Present

  • Paul Wagner
  • Richard Herskowitz
  • Shannon Worrell
  • Thadd McQuade
  • Laura Parsons
  • Nicole Kassell
  • Will May
  • Catherine Dee
  • Tom DeCuir
  • Temple Fennell
  • Jen Fariello
  • Erik Adolphson
  • Grier Dill
  • Cassandra Barnett
  • Daniel Bloomberg
  • Alexandria Searls
  • Nora Brookfield
  • Will Kerner
  • Richard Needham
  • Dave Ackerman
  • Sidney Griffin
  • Geoff Luck
  • Johnny St. Ours
  • Eric Hurt
  • Sasha Solodukhina
  • Luke Tilghman
  • Dave Brown
  • Meredith Curtin
  • Ross Bollinger
  • Bernard Hankins
  • Rom Alejandro
  • MA Sullivan
  • Harold Folley
  • Gretel Truong
  • Mara Cox
  • Dan Hennicke
  • Jordan Taylor
  • Greg Kelly
  • Bremen Donovan
  • Joe Babarksy
  • William Cassell
  • Keira Hart
  • Mary Pumphrey
  • Evan Parter
  • Nathaniel Turner
  • Giles Sherwood
  • Goran Kajan
  • Deanna Gould
  • Sam Baker
  • Mac Marshall
  • Adam Brock
  • Billy Hunt
  • Mark Farmwald
  • Marcello Rollando
  • Maya Drake
  • Rebekah Brooks
  • Vashti Harrison
  • Keaton Monger
  • Clarence Green
  • Joe Ruckert
  • Aidan Keith-Hynes
  • Reid Hildebrand
  • Charlotte Cherry
  • Zach Keifer
  • Taylor Gist
  • Wendy Brown
  • Taka Suzuki
  • Anna Hogg
  • Jonah Tobias
  • Greg Brozenske
  • Elizabeth Culbertson
  • Catherine Cura
  • Caroline Cox
  • Ryan Beard
  • Karson Monger
  • Joe Vena
  • Jason Stefaniak
  • Aaron McGinnis
  • Rebecca Malaret
  • Meredith Cole
  • Larry Blanford
  • Becca Meaney
  • Will Mullany
  • Sandy Williams
  • Will Jones
  • Joel Ruby
  • Michelle Kislykov
  • Corinne James
  • Elizabeth Cassell
  • Noah Bowden
  • Ashley Yalaju
  • Anne Schermerhorn
  • David Ariew
  • Kate Wagner
  • Sam Gorman
  • Jason Robinson
  • Anna Wang
  • Chelsea Woodfolk
  • Rachel Abrams
  • Will Goss
  • Alexi Scheiber
  • Ian Levesque
  • Denise Stewart